Max tops Interlagos FP1

Published on 09 November 2018 by Stefan Meens

Max Verstappen was quickest in the opening session of the Brazilian Grand Prix. The Aston Martin Red Bull Racing driver lapped the Interlagos circuit faster than Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) and Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes). Max’ team mate, Daniel Ricciardo, had to settle for fourth.

The Australian, who has been given another grid penalty ahead of Sunday’s race, was the first driver out on track. He was joined by a couple of Friday practice drivers: Antonio Giovinazzi, replacing Marcus Ericsson at Sauber; Lando Norris, instead of Fernando Alonso, at Mclaren; and Force India running Nicolas Latifi in place of Esteban Ocon.

Max Verstappen fans have to wait a while to see their star man on track. Half an hour into FP1, the Dutchman completes his first timed lap of the morning. Max is near the front from the get go as his first effort earns him P2 before continually bettering his lap times. Nevertheless, it is not enough to be quickest at the halfway mark. Instead, Lewis Hamilton is marginally quicker than the RBR ace.

Around the hour mark, Max heads out on the Pirelli super-soft tyres. His first timed lap on this new set is ultimately the quickest lap of the entire session.

In the closing stages, most drivers opt for long runs on used tyres, resulting in Max’ quickest effort not being beaten, meaning the youngster starts his Brazilian GP weekend well.

Brazilian GP contest: win a Red Bull Racing team shirt!

Results first free practice Brazil:

1Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:09.011 16
2Sebastian VettelVETFerrari1:09.060+0.049s20
3Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:09.107+0.096s28
4Daniel RicciardoRICRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:09.395+0.384s23
5Kimi RäikkönenRAIFerrari1:09.573+0.562s28
6Valteri BottasBOTMercedes1:09.679+0.668s23
7Romain GrosjeanGROHaas Ferrari1:09.922+0.911s28
8Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:10.236+1.225s15
9Charles LeclercLECSauber Ferrari1:10.346+1.335s28
10Esteban OconOCOForce India Mercedes1:10.361+1.350s34
11Carlos SainzSAIRenault1:10.662+1.651s34
12Nico HulkenbergHULRenault1:10.679+1.668s34
13Antonio GiovinazziGIOSauber Ferrari1:10.685+1.674s29
14Lance StrollSTRWilliams Mercedes1:10.799+1.788s30
15Pierre GaslyGASScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:10.934+1.923s30
16Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Renault1:11.013+2.002s28
17Sergey SirotkinSIRWilliams Mercedes1:11.037+2.026s30
18Brendon HartleyHARScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:11.176+2.165s32
19Stoffel VandoorneVANMcLaren Renault1:11.452+2.441s23
20Nicholas LatifiLATForce India Mercedes1:11.493+2.482s34