Max sixth in Silverstone FP1

Published on 06 July 2018 by Stefan Meens

Max Verstappen opened his British Grand Prix weekend with P6 in the first Friday practice session. His quickest effort (1:28.325) was set, contrary to the other drivers, on the medium Pirellis tyre. Unfortunately for the Dutchman, his session ended early after his RB14 suffered gear box problems.

Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) was quickest, ahead of his team mate Valtteri Bottas. Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel completed the top three. Aston Martin Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo claimed P4.

Although the session was not interrupted by red flags, the virtual safety car was activated after a heavy crash. Romain Grosjean tried to use DRS into the first corner but was unable to make I through the whole turn. His Haas ended up in the tyre wall with the driver unharmed.

Other drivers had excursions too, but less severe. Daniel Ricciardo and Sergey Sirotkin (Williams) were both able to continue after quick drives through the gravel traps. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) spun too but made his way out of the grass relatively comfortably.

At the front, title contenders Hamilton and Vettel exchange fastest lap times, with the former looking confident, ultimately topping the leader board at the end of FP1.

With ten minutes to go, Max sets his quickest lap of the session (1:28.325), the sixth fastest time overall. Soon after, he reports to the team he has issues changing gears, forcing him to park his RB14 on the start/finish straight, next to the pit wall.

Enter our British Grand Prix contest with a chance to win Max Verstappen goodies

Results first free practice Great Britain:

1Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:27.487 24
3Sevastian VettelVETFerrari1:27.998+0.511s22
4Daniel RicciardoRICRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:28.144+0.657s30
5Kimi RäikkönenRAIFerrari1:28.218+0.731s24
6Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:28.325+0.838s24
7Romain GrosjeanGROHaas Ferrari1:29.352+1.865s12
8Sergio PerezPERForce India Mercedes1:29.812+2.325s23
9Esteban OconOCOForce India Mercedes1:29.815+2.328s24
10Lance StrollSTRWilliams Mercedes1:29.878+2.391s25
11Marcus EricssonERISauber Ferrari1:29.942+2.455s25
12Pierre GaslyGASScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:30.004+2.517s31
13Charles LeclercLECSauber Ferrari1:30.027+2.540s27
14Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:30.065+2.578s20
15Fernando AlonsoALOMcLaren Renault1:30.322+2.835s19
16Carlos SainzSAIRenault1:30.358+2.871s22
17Stoffel VandoorneVANMcLaren Renault1:30.416+2.929s25
18Nico HulkenbergHULRenault1:30.701+3.214s18
19Brendon HartleyHARScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:30.749+3.262s31
20SergeySirotkinSIRSIRWilliams Mercedes1:31.017+3.530s22