Max quickest in Montreal FP1

Published on 08 June 2018 by Stefan Meens

Max Verstappen started his Canadian Grand Prix weekend by setting the pace in the opening session. The Dutchman was quickest ahead of reigning world champion Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) and Aston Martin Red Bull Racing team mate Daniel Ricciardo.

At the start of the session, we see not one, but two Canadians on the drivers list. Apart from Williams regular Lance Stroll, compatriot Nicolas Latifi is driving Sergio Perez’ Force India in FP1.

Meanwhile, Max is the first driver to take to the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. His RB14 sports the aero-rakes to measure the airflow of the car.

Half an hour into the session, race control deploys a virtual safety car after Nico Hulkenberg’s Renault has stopped on the final straight. The German’s gearbox is stuck in neutral meaning the marshals have to rescue the stricken Renault and return it to the team.

In the second half of FP1, several drivers switch to the fastest compound made available by Pirelli, the hyper-soft. In his first lap on these pink side-walled tyres, Max climbs up to P7, before clocking three purple sectors to claim the fastest lap of the session.

With half an hour to go, local hero Lance Stroll meets the ‘Wall of Champions’ by smashing his Williams into the barriers after loosing control in the final corner of the circuit.

Meanwhile, Max notices something flapping near his front suspension. He notifies the team and returns to the pits for further investigation. The damage appears to limited as the youngster is back on track ten minutes later.

Again, Max heads out on the hyper-soft tyres, but is unable to improve on his earlier efforts. Sirotkin’s spin in the dying seconds of the session mean nobody betters Max’ lap time, granting the Dutchman his first P1 of the season.

Enter our Canadian Grand Prix contest with a chance to win the new t-shirt and shoes from the MV Collection 2018

Results first free practice Canada:

1Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:13.302 26
2Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:13.390+0.088s29
3Daniel RicciardoRICRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:13.518+0.216s24
4Sebastian VettelVETFerrari1:13.574+0.272s19
5Valtteri BottasBOTMercedes1:13.617+0.315s31
6Kimi RäikkönenRAIFerrari1:13.727+0.425s28
7Fernando AlonsoALOMcLaren Renault1:13.900+0.598s27
8Carlos SainzSAIRenault1:14.116+0.814s24
9Stoffel VandoorneVANMcLaren Renault1:14.311+1.009s19
10Pierre GaslyGASScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:15.004+1.702s31
11Esteban OconOCOForce India Mercedes1:15.071+1.769s29
12Romain GrosjeanGROHaas Ferrari1:15.119+1.817s21
13Marcus EricssonERISauber Ferrari1:15.386+2.084s30
14Charles LeclercLECSauber Ferrari1:15.439+2.137s30
15Kevin MagnussenMAGHaas Ferrari1:15.579+2.277s21
16Brendon HartleyHARScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:15.756+2.454s38
17Sergey SirotkinSIRWilliams Mercedes1:15.768+2.466s30
18Lance StrollSTRWilliams Mercedes1:16.259+2.957s16
19Nicholas LatifiLATForce India Mercedes1:17.145+3.843s28
20Nico HulkenbergHULRenault---3