Max fourth in final Monaco practice

Published on 27 May 2017 by Stefan Meens

Max Verstappen was fourth fastest in the final free practice session of the Monaco Grand Prix. After 27 laps, the Red Bull Racing ace was half a second of pace setter Sebastian Vettel. His Ferrari team mate Kimi Raikkonen was second, followed by Valtteri Bottas in the Mercedes.

After a day off, FP1 & 2 take place on Thursday in Monaco, the drivers are keen to get a lot of track time as the circuit has evolved in the last few days. Nevertheless, the tyre wear is minimal this weekend. Max provides proof of this as he heads out on the ultra-soft tyres and is able to consistently put in fast lap times in a 13-lap stint.

With fifteen minutes to go, Max heads out on a new set of the ultra soft tyres, to prepare for qualifying. Despite not being too happy with the car - “The car doesn’t turn as well” - he embarks on a final fast lap. His effort is cut short; Esteban Ocon has clipped the barriers coming out of the swimming pool section. The result is a broken front suspension and a Force India launched into the barriers. The Frenchman is unharmed and after quick action from the Marshalls, the session is resumed for the final four minutes.

When the flag drops, Daniel Ricciardo is forced to park his car at turn 1 with a suspected brake failure. The Australian’s problems mark the end of a busy session.

Monaco Grand Prix - Monte Carlo - Saturday 27 May


01  5 Sebastian Vettel    Ferrari                     1:12.395          23
02  7 Kimi Räikkönen      Ferrari                     1:12.740 +0.345s  26
03 77 Valtteri Bottas     Mercedes                    1:12.830 +0.435s  29
04 33 Max Verstappen      Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer   1:12.940 +0.545s  27
05 44 Lewis Hamilton      Mercedes                    1:13.230 +0.835s  27
06  3 Daniel Ricciardo    Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer   1:13.392 +0.997s  24
07 55 Carlos Sainz        Toro Rosso                  1:13.400 +1.005s  27
08 26 Daniil Kvyat        Toro Rosso                  1:13.563 +1.168s  23
09 20 Kevin Magnussen     Haas Ferrari                1:13.596 +1.201s  21
10  2 Stoffel Vandoorne   McLaren Honda               1:13.805 +1.410s  21
11 11 Sergio Perez        Force India Mercedes        1:13.936 +1.541s  23
12 22 Jenson Button       McLaren Honda               1:13.976 +1.581s  26
13 31 Esteban Ocon        Force India Mercedes        1:14.072 +1.677s  21
14 19 Felipe Massa        Williams Mercedes           1:14.072 +1.677s  28
15 27 Nico Hulkenberg     Renault                     1:14.283 +1.888s  24
16  8 Romain Grosjean     Haas Ferrari                1:14.547 +2.152s  23
17 18 Lance Stroll        Williams Mercedes           1:14.675 +2.280s  35
18 30 Jolyon Palmer       Renault                     1:15.164 +2.769s  25
19 94 Pascal Wehrlein     Sauber Ferrari              1:15.291 +2.896s  29
20  9 Marcus Ericsson     Sauber Ferrari              1:15.863 +3.468s  26


Click here to enter our competition with a chance to win great prices